Election 2015: Parliamentarians from uOttawa

On October 19th, Canada went to the polls and elected a new government. On that day, 15 uOttawa alumni, 1 faculty member and 1 recipient of an honorary doctorate were elected to represent their constituents as MPs (source).  

Notable alumni taking up their seats in the house include the the Honourable Carla Qualtrough, who has been named Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities. She graduated from the Political Science department in 1993. Canada’s new Minister of Health, Dr. Jane Philpott, did her residency training at uOttawa, and astronaut Marc Garneau (new Minister of Transport) has an honorary doctorate from uOttawa. 

I’d like to congratulate these alumni for their achievement!

A complete list of uOttawa alumni elected in the Oct. 19 election, published originally on the uOttawa website, appears below:

Complete list of Parliamentarian Alumni

Angelo G. Iacona, MP (LLB ’00)
The Honourable Maxime Bernier, MP (LLL ’88)
The Honourable Denis Paradis, MP (BCom ’70 and ’75 LLL)                           
Greg Fergus, MP (BSocSc ’92)
Guy Caron, MP (BA ’92)
Francis Drouin, MP (BCom ’14)
The Honourable Dr. Jane Philpott, MP (Family Medicine Residency ’86) – Minister of Health
Anthony Rota, MP (MBA ’99)
Andrew Leslie, MP (BSocSc ’80)
David McGuinty, MP (BA LLB ’86 and ’88)
The Honourable Mauril Bélanger, MP (BA ’76)
Paul Lefebvre, MP (LLB ’99)
Ahmed Hussen, MP (JD ’11)
The Honourable Andrew Scheer, MP (BA ’08) – Speaker of the House of Commons
The Honourable Carla Qualtrough MP (BSocSc ’93) – Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

 And in addition to our alumni …

William Amos, MP – Director and Staff Lawyer for Ecojustice (on leave) and Professor, Faculty of Common Law
The Honourable Marc Garneau, MP (Honorary Doctorate ’97) – Minister of Transport

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s